Boyertown Area School District

Parent/Community/Intergovernmental Committee

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Minutes

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chairperson, Dr. Ronald Christman.
- 2. Board Members in attendance were: Dr. Ronald Christman, Chair, Board members; Mrs. Gwen Semmens, Mrs. Barbara Hartford, Mr. Joseph Nichols, Ms. Ruth Dierolf, and Mrs. Donna Usavage.

Administration in attendances: Mr. Robert Scoboria, Dr. Charles Amuso Public Present: None

- 3. Those present recited the Pledge of Allegiance and observed a moment of silence.
- 4. There were no comments from the Public.
- 5. Approval of the Minutes of the January 8, 2013 Parent/Community/Intergovernmental Committee Meeting were approved unanimously, after a motion by Mrs. Semmens and a second by Mrs. Usavage.
- 6. The committee reviewed the draft list of organizations to be recognized for the following purpose:
 - Purpose for Recognitions: To provide recognition of organizations which provide their time, talent, and/or funds for the support of the programs for students in the Boyertown Area School District.

Organization Name – Current President

- Boyertown Area Schools Music League Chris Allmendinger
- Boyertown Area Community Wellness Council Carla Haydt
- Boyertown Area Kiwanis Club Royal Spatz
- Boyertown Area Wrestling Association Kurt Davidheiser
- Boyertown Area Youth Baseball, Ltd. Jerry Basco
- Boyertown Area YMCA Terri Geary
- Boyertown Optimists Audrey Nettles
- Boyertown Sports Complex Committee Bob Reinhart
- Boyertown ES Parent Teacher Organization Denise Meier/Cara Schweizer
- Colebrookdale ES Home and School Association Ginny Angus
- District P Boyertown Lions Club Dr. James Tribbett
- Earl ES Parent Teacher Organization Heather Shaner
- Gilbertsville ES Home and School Association Sheri Waldman
- New Hanover/Upper Frederick ES Parent Teacher Child Association Elise Watts
- Pine Forge ES Parent Teacher Association Julie Wilde
- Rotary Club of Boyertown Jessica Grater, Esq.
- Washington ES Home and School Association Jenn Martin
- BASH Football Parents Association Michelle Zilen
- BASH Girls' Basketball Boosters Christopher Cotellese
- Boyertown Boys Basketball Parents Association Jill Dennin

- 7. The committee members recommended that the administration look for the following groups to add to those being recognized on June 18, 2013:
 - a. BMBA
 - b. Odd Fellows
 - i. Booster Clubs for the following sports-
 - 1. Boys and Girls Lacrosse
 - 2. Boys and Girls Soccer
 - 3. Boys and Girls Track
 - 4. Field Hockey
 - c. Junior High East Parent Group
 - d. Victory Mile
 - e. Boyertown Area Multi Service
- 8. The committee suggested that the school facility scheduling software be checked for any groups that might have been missed.
- 9. After further discussion, the committee decided the following:
 - a. The initial recognitions will take place at the June 18, 2013, Board of School Directors Meeting at Boyertown Area High School.
 - i. Refreshments will be provided in the cafeteria prior to the Board Meeting.
 - ii. At the Board Meeting, certificates, specifically designed for this occasion will be presented in cardboard frames to the current president, chair, or leader of the organizations to be honored. The certificates will be presented by Board members who choose to participate. Each presenter will have notes that will include the contributions made by the organization in the current and in past years.
 - iii. In the future, only the current year's contributions will be recognized.
- 10. The committee recommended that the groups be called forward individually, but in clusters, such as: Civic organizations, sports booster organizations, parent organizations, etc.
- 11. Also recommended was that the invited organizations be asked to RSVP and that the invitation should be limited to two persons for each group.
- 12. Dr. Christman and Dr. Amuso will contact each group to research the history of contributions of time, talent, and funds made over the years. This research will be used to provide the notes for the presenters for each group.
- 13. The meeting was adjourned by the Dr. Christman at 6:23 p.m.